During Key Stage 3 in Computing, there is a focus on developing digital skills and knowledge essential for every pupils’ future. 

At KS4, learning will focus on the basic of digital technology to use in the workplace and at home. The pupils learn about how to organise documents using files and folders and will prepare for using digital technology after their compulsory education. They will deepen their skills and knowledge of computing for use at home, further education and the workplace. They will look at using Microsoft software and computer networks. Additionally, the pupils will learn how to send and receive emails and their awareness of how to identify scam emails.



Year 7:

The pupils learn computational thinking by using programming techniques and understanding how to problem solve. They begin investigate computer hardware, software and computer terminology. Pupils also start to develop essential digital literacy skills, such as e-safety and using appropriate software packages for a specific task.

Year 8:

Pupils continue to use programming to support key problem solving skills and move into programming their own games. Throughout the year, they gradually move into deepening their digital literacy skills by exploring how data is represented by computers and using technology safely.

Year 9:

The emphasis of learning moves toward broadening pupils’ skills and knowledge of how to communicate effective using technology; staying safe and legal online; computing crime; cyber security and online transactions.




Entry Level ICT

Exam Board: NCFE - Qualification: Entry Level 3

At KS4, students study ICT. Students have the opportunity to hone skills and knowledge they developed in previous years.

They use a range of software applications needed for college and the work environment. These skills also support them in creating and presenting work necessary to complete their other courses at school. Time is also spent learning how to communicate using technology."